First Responders are my Heroes

We always have those thoughts of “It could never happen to me” or “It won’t happen to me”…  Until it does.

Last night, we were at my In-law’s having a perfect evening.  BBQ’d hamburgers, I painted my Mother-In-Law’s nails and hubby worked on a wood bench.  About 9pm, when he was done I went out to see it.  I sat down and a couple of seconds later, it felt like a mosquito bit me, and then the sensation got worse.  When I freaked out and jumped up, Jon noticed the bee on the ground.  I knew I was allergic but didn’t really know what to expect.

Honeybee

We dug what we could of the stinger out and as we were doing that, I felt my throat starting to close, I was getting nauseous and having trouble breathing.  My Mother-In-Law gave me 2 Benadryl’s but it continued to get worse.  I started sweating and getting really warm, and then vomited once.  We decided to head to the ER but on the way, Jon decided to call 911 and meet an ambulance.  The rest is pretty much a blur.

In speaking with the Dr this morning, we were informed that the anaphylactic shock was much more serious than we realized at the moment.  He said that the First Responders giving me epinephrine immediately before doing anything else when they arrived to the scene saved my life.  I learned at the hospital that my blood pressure was 70/40 and I was pretty unresponsive. My breathing was severely ragged and laboured.  Had my husband not made the decision he did, who knows what the outcome may had been?

The Dr suggested writing a “Thank You” note to the Paramedics that arrived on scene.  I  started wondering just how many people do that, and then immediately decided that I would be one of them.  Remember I told you that my husband is a PK?  Well, in texting with my Mother-In-Law, I learned that tomorrow at my Father-In-Law’s church the entire service is honoring First Responders/Community Workers.  These people put their lives on the line completely selflessly, knowing that the outcome could not be favorable.  In some cases, they’re running in when everyone else is running out.  I get emotional thinking about what could have happened had they not worked as quickly as they did…  So, tomorrow, I get to personally thank the people who don’t often get thanked.  But I will also thank God for them every night in my prayers!

Thank-you-First-Responders

7 thoughts on “First Responders are my Heroes

  1. Brandy Oakes says:

    Thank God you’re still here!! God was with you the whole time and those first responders are my new best friends. Love you girl!! ❤

    • I have an epi-pen now! I’d had one but I used it about 10 years ago and never got it refilled… I’m on strict orders from just about everyone I know to have it with me at all times!!! I’m glad they were there and that my husband was such a quick thinker!!

Leave a Reply

