Sarah Laughed

So, my favorite Christian radio station that I listen to every day started playing Christmas songs the day after Thanksgiving and I LOVE it!!  This morning on my way to work I heard this song:

SUCH a beautiful song.  I’ve heard it numerous times, but this morning, it really reached out and grabbed me.  I found myself wondering if there were any women that were hurting when they found out that Mary, who was just a TEENAGER, was pregnant.  How could they have known that she was carrying my Savior?  I started to think about all the women in the bible that dealt with barrenness and infertility.  We modern women think that life is so hard when treatment is a year or two away – and it is, since we are no longer living for hundreds of years – but these women were THOUSANDS of years from that!  I found myself wondering if they felt the feelings of bitterness and jealousy and desperation.  Then, I did some digging.

bible

Elizabeth is Mary’s cousin.  In Luke 1 (NIV), it says that Elizabeth and her husband Zachariah “lived honorably before God, careful in keeping to the ways of the commandments and enjoying a clear conscience before God., but they were childless because Elizabeth could not conceive and they were both very old.”  It also says that when she was told she was pregnant, that she kept herself in seclusion for 5 months just to enjoy it!

In 1 Samuel, we are introduced to Hannah.  She is one of two wives.  The other wife, Peninnah, keeps popping out kids.  Not only does she keep having children, but she rubs it in Hannah’s FACE!  The story talks about how the families go to the temple together to eat and the husband serves Peninnah and all her children, but he gives an extra special helping to Hannah – because he loves her so much and because God had not given her children (can you say pity?!).  It says that Hannah is reduced to tears and has no appetite – year after year.  Sounds like infertility to me!  When her husband questions why she’s crying (sound familiar?!) she pulls herself together, eats and then quietly slips away for some time with God.  It says this in verses 1 Samuel 1:9-11 (The Message)  “Crushed in soul, Hannah prayed to God and cried and cried – inconsolably.  Then she made a vow:  Oh, God-of-the-Angel-Armies, If you’ll take a good, hard look at my pain, If you’ll quit neglecting me and go into action for me by giving me a son, I’ll give him completely, unreservedly to you.  I’ll set him apart for a life of holy discipline.”  That’s some serious pain right there.

We can’t forget Sarah.  She was 90 when she had a son!  But what’s great about Sarah is she seems so real!  It says in Genesis that God comes to visit Abraham and Sarah (how awesome is that?!) and tells her, that when He sees her next year, she will have a son.  SARAH LAUGHED!  At God!  Genesis 18:12 (The Message) tells us that Sarah thinks to herself “An old woman like me? Get pregnant? With this old man of a husband?”  Oh, I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall for that!  But God just says “Is anything to hard for Me?”

We’ve all felt the same pain as these women.  We’ve cried and cried inconsolably – in bed, in the shower, in the car, in the grocery store, at work.  God sees it.  And He says “Is anything to hard for Me?”  Luke 1:37 says that NOTHING is impossible with God.

It’s somehow comforting to me to know that these women felt the same way.  While we may not be “normal”, we are certainly reliable!  Maybe I’ll never get pregnant.  Maybe I’ll get pregnant at an old age.  I can’t guarantee I won’t pull a Sarah if I do and laugh!  But shoot, we have to find SOME humor in our situation – or we will REALLY go crazy!!

humor

6 thoughts on “Sarah Laughed

  1. I sing in my church’s band and after 4 yrs of trying w/ my husband, I had finally gotten pregnant and was scheduled to sing “A Baby Changes Everything” for the Christmas service in 2010. I had a miscarriage before that Sunday and never did get to sing it. So it is a sad song for me, but pretty also. I also know all about Sarah and Hannah, and being fertile leads you to want to pop Penninah in the face and think about how Sarah and Abraham were half siblings and how he married after Sarah died and even had more children. I hope you get your baby. God has His reasons.

  2. As usual, Dacina, this is beautifully written. I may have shared with you, but the story of Hannah is one I hang onto for our daughter. In I Samuel 1:27 she says, “I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of him.” God made that verse special to me and I keep it in my heart as His promise. I pray it for you too.

Leave a Reply

