We Meet Again

January

Well, January.  We meet again.  You’ve been lurking like a mischievous child.  You’ve always been my favorite month – you’re the month that everyone gets to celebrate the fact that I was born!  The last 2 January’s, however, have NOT been good.  January 2012 – my mother got sick and was diagnosed with cancer soon after.  January 2013 – my mother in law was diagnosed with breast cancer.  So, maybe you can kinda understand where my apprehension to see you comes from.  Now this year, I’ve started out with pneumonia.  I’m just gonna assume that this is just getting the major illnesses out of the way for the year!  I WILL NOT spend as much time at Dr’s offices this year as I did last!  Mark. My. Words.

no_doctor

2013 wasn’t exactly kind to me.  I learned a lot, though.  About me.  About my husband.  About friends.  About family.  I’ve learned that I can feel more than I thought.  I’ve learned that I can bend farther than I realized.  I’ve learned that I can fight harder than I’d expected.  I’ve learned that I can live through pain that seems unbearable.  I’ve learned that my husband can support the weight of my leaning on him.  I’ve learned that some of the friends I thought would be there, haven’t.  I’ve learned that some of the family that I thought would be there, aren’t.  And I don’t regret a single thing.  I might change the outcome – but the lessons are valuable.

2014 paris

This is the time of year that everyone starts their “New Years Resolutions”.  I’ve never been one for resolutions.  Let’s be honest – how many of us stick with the resolutions that we make every year (for longer than a month)?  I’ll be the first to say “Not me!”  They’d probably be better served being called “New Years Intentions”!  I have a few of those!  But I’ll just share a couple.

in 2014, it is my intention to:

  • Give myself more grace in tough situations.
  • Focus more on the blessings I have than the ones I want.

This year IS going to be a good year.  Because I say so.  Our arms may be empty, but our hearts are full.

“For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?” – Isaiah 43:19

2 thoughts on “We Meet Again

  1. Praying your new year improves IMMEDIATELY and GREATLY!!! We never know what a new year will bring! I pray it is many good things and the desire of your heart. God is faithful and I know somehow He will carry us through! Hugs, friend! Big ones! xo

    • Judging by the sunset God gave me tonight, I’d say it already has!!!!! I wish there was a way to send them to you, but I’ll blog about it I’m sure lol! I include you in my prayers every night!! Hugs back to you, dear friend!!!

Leave a Reply

