Aside

Tomorrow

For most people, tomorrow is just another day.  For some, it’s the day they look forward to all week so they can sleep in.  For others, it’s just another day they have to go to work.  For ME, though, it’s the day the world was graced with my presence!!  It’s the 6th anniversary of my 29th birthday!  (Ok you math whizzes, go to work!)

abacus

I’ve always LOVED my birthday!!  If I’m being honest, I didn’t really celebrate a day, I took the whole month!  I’ve never been a fan of surprises, so I always made sure that I was planning, or setting the wheels in motion for planning, what would happen for my birthday.  I was always SUPER excited!!  I made sure that EVERYONE I knew, and even some that I didn’t, knew that it was my birthday.  I’m a blusher.  I’ve never been able to control it.  So by default, I don’t really like being the center of attention because it draws everyone’s attention to my blazing red face.  I know, you’re saying to yourself “Someone that writes a blog for anyone and everyone to see doesn’t like being the center of attention? I call B.S.”  But I can hide behind my laptop!  Yet inside, sometimes I secretly enjoyed all the attention.

happy birthday to me

This year, for some reason, it’s different.  I made a joking post on Facebook about a week ago, but I haven’t mentioned it to anyone else.  My mother-in-law texted me early this week and offered a suggestion on what we should do to celebrate.  We were going to go to the mall, buy something nice to wear, “get all fancy – hair & makeup” and go to dinner somewhere really nice – just the adults.  Even THAT took some convincing!  But, it IS my birthday after all!  Then today, the day that we were supposed to meet after work, we had the biggest snowstorm we’ve seen yet this winter.  But, listen here Mother Nature.  You will NOT ruin our dinner tomorrow night.  No one messes with my Melting Pot reservations!  Plus, I get some free chocolate covered strawberries!

photo-3

As of tomorrow, anytime I need to fill out forms, I will no longer be in the 18-34 category.  That makes me feel OLD!  As if my gray hair and aching bones & joints weren’t getting the job done with that reminder just fine.  Not to mention all of the stuff that has to do with infertility that changes at this age!!

They say “with age comes wisdom” and I’m learning that to be oh-so-true.  In the last week or so, I’ve learned some things about ME.  Things that made me happy.  Things that made me sad.  Things that made me realize that the right choice isn’t always the easy choice.  Things I need to change and things that I will NEVER change.  It’s been a rough week.   But I don’t regret ANY of it!!

So far, January has proven to be the B-I-*-%-@  it’s been for the last couple years.  But it’s also proving to be a great starting point for what will be some love-filled, understanding, get-to-know-you-better-everyday years.  And I, for one, am excited for THAT!

J&D dancing

6 thoughts on “Tomorrow

  1. Happy Birthday pretty lady!! Have fun at the Melting Pot. I have never been. My hubby finds it silly to pay that much for food that you have to cook yourself. hehe! He would take me though if I said I wanted to go…I seem to always stick to Texas Roadhouse or Longhorn. lol! I can be a really cheap date because I usually crave Five Guys Burgers too 🙂 Have a great weekend!

    waitingforbabybird.com

  2. Happy, happy birthday, friend!!! Hope this new year brings great things for you!! I just moved into a new demographic 2 weeks ago – the big 4-0!!! Crazy. Praying big blessing for you in this new age grouping!!! xo

Leave a Reply

