Resolve to Know More about Keeping a Sense of Humor with Infertility

Infertility is tough.

Infertility is stressful.

Infertility is an easy journey to “lose yourself” in.

That is why it is so important to me to keep a sense of humor.  Not a sick, twisted sense of humor, but to be able to laugh at jokes that will lighten a mood after a particularly tough day, or to be able to play with your spouse after a tense conversation or situation.

My husband is a VERY laid-back kind of guy.  Our counselor likens men’s emotions/thought processes to a chest of drawers.  While women are capable of having multiple drawers open at a time, men can have one – and only one – drawer open at a time.

The “I’m hungry, what’s to eat?” drawer.  The “I’m tired and want to zone out to the TV” drawer.  The “I wonder how my wife is feeling and how I can make her feel better” drawer.  Ok, maybe there’s not really a drawer for that, but there should be.

Most of us have emotions that run from frigid to you’re-gonna-get-burned-if-you-touch-me gamut.  We can go from a 2 (sad and depressed) to an 8 (laughing and joking) in a matter of seconds.  Well, maybe just me.  But my husband goes from a 4 to a 6 and that’s about the extent of his levels.

He just believes so strongly that everything is going to be okay that things don’t really bother him.  And he’s got the rebound of a rubber band after we have an argument.  Oh, how I wish I were that way!!

sleep like my husband

After my dad met J, I will never forget him telling me “you guys balance each other out so perfectly, it’s like you were made for each other.  He will calm you down, and you may be able to rile him up sometimes.”  Well, dad was right.  He may not get riled up very often, but I know just what buttons to push!  Tee-hee.

We are both stubborn as can be and we’ve had arguments that have left us not speaking for days.

But we’re learning to smile a little more.  We’re learning to laugh a little more.  We’re learning to enjoy our intimacy – beyond the temping and the opk’s and the perfectly timed sex.

We’re in this together.

We may be 1 in 8, but we are ONE.

_DSC0167

 

http://www.resolve.org/support-and-services/Managing-Infertility-Stress/grieving-and-growing-creative-outlets-to-grieving-during-infertility.html

http://www.resolve.org/infertility101

http://www.resolve.org/national-infertility-awareness-week/about.html

 

If you’d like to donate to our IVF fund, visit: www.youcaring.com/munchkin-mcnabb

20 thoughts on “Resolve to Know More about Keeping a Sense of Humor with Infertility

  1. This is so great!!! I love it!! I love the play one ‘1 in 8’. It’s so good when our boys can be our friends too in this whole drama. Have to be able to laugh. Otherwise, I think IF can crush a marriage. Fantastic post!

    • Thank you so much!! It IS soooo good when our boys can be our friends in all of it!! It’s been tough, and I thought for a time that it WAS going to crush our marriage. Thankfully, God had other plans!!! Thank you again!! ❤️

  2. I’ve got a post titled H is Humour I intended to write about trying to keep perspective but haven’t got there yet.
    I’m lucky enough too to have a fab hubby that can always make me laugh. That’s when their contribution is really valued in this process!

    • I’ll have to check it out! I’m so glad you have a supportive hubby!! SERIOUSLY so important!! Especially one that can make you laugh! You’re right, that is when it’s most valued!!

      • Yeah I think they can feel a little left out outside of DTD, but that’s when I truly appreciate him most.
        In fact you’ve made me realise I really should do something special for him this wknd and let him know it’s appreciated.

Leave a Reply

